Log in

Newsletter Archives

<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   Next >  Last >> 
  • 24 Oct 2023 9:09 AM | Ling Qin (Administrator)

    The International Chinese Musculoskeletal Research Society (ICMRS) convened its 2023 Fall Membership Meeting virtually on October 8, 2023, led by Dr. Wentian Yang, Chair of the ICMRS Program Committee and faculty member at Brown University Alpert Medical School. Dr. Yang initiated the session with a warm welcome to the ICMRS community.

    To commence, Professor Minghao Zheng, the immediate past president of ICMRS and a faculty member at the University of Western Australia, provided a brief overview of the society's achievements over the past two years. Under his leadership, ICMRS witnessed steady growth in revenue and membership, now boasting 685 members and 41 collaborative centers worldwide. New award categories were established to honor members' academic and leadership accomplishments, and the ICMRS-Oxford translation meeting in musculoskeletal research was successfully organized. Professor Zheng also outlined future challenges for ICMRS.

    Following this, Dr. Guozhi Xiao, the newly elected President of ICMRS and a professor at the Southern University of Science and Technology (SUST), delivered his inaugural speech. Dr. Xiao shared his aspirations for the community and articulated his vision for ICMRS in the coming years. He introduced his leadership team and committee chairs.

    The event proceeded with the traditional Webster Jee Young Investigator Awards ceremony and keynote seminars. Professor Jerry Feng from Texas A&M announced the award winners, each of whom—Han Jiao (Hebei Medical University), Jiekang Wang (Johns Hopkins University), Jingruo Zhang (University of Texas Health Science Center), Tailin He (Southern University of Science and Technology), and Hao Zhou (Zhejiang University School of Medicine)—delivered brief presentations on their award-winning discoveries. They each received a $500 prize and a plaque. Professor Mone Zaidi from Icahn Sinai School of Medicine in New York presented a captivating lecture on "Pituitary Crosstalk Between Bone, Body Fat, and Brain." Additionally, Professor Veronique Lefebvre from the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia and the University of Pennsylvania shared recent findings on "SOXC Are Critical Regulators of Adult Bone Mass."

    The Fall ICMRS membership meeting also featured updates from three editors, Professors Hui Yang, Yixian Qin, and Gang Li, who discussed the three ICMRS-sponsored journals: Bone Research, Mechanobiology in Medicine, and Journal of Orthopedic Translation.

    The meeting achieved great success with over 326 attendees, including ICMRS members and non-member guests worldwide.

    (By Dr. Jiahui Huang)

  • 20 Mar 2023 9:52 AM | Jiawei Lu

    The annual ICMRS Membership Zoom Meeting was held online on Feburary 25, 2023. Professor Guozhi Xiao, the Program Committee Chair and President-Elect of ICMRS from Southern University of Science and Technology organized and presided over the meeting. Dr. Minghao Zheng, ICMRS president and professor of the University of Western Australia gave a brief summary on the current state of ICMRS and the society’s progresses during the last year under his leadership.

    As a tradition, the membership meeting was highlighted by the Webster Jee Young Investigator Awards session. This year’s winners are Drs. Yuantao Zhang (The Chinese University of Hong Kong), Mingyue Fan (Drexel University), Jiawei Lu (University of Pennsylvania), Yiyang Ma (Shanghai Jiao Tong University), Donghao Gan (Southern University of Science and Technology) and Bryan Kwok (Drexel University). A cash prize of $500 and an award plaque will be given to each awardee shortly after the meeting.

    This year’s membership meeting has invited two keynote speakers. Dr. Richard Oreffo, Professor in Musculoskeletal Science from the University of Southampton presented a highly exciting talk entitled “New approaches to skeletal cell-based bone regeneration from bench to clinic”. Dr. Ling Qin, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, the University of Pennsylvania, presented her recent scientific findings entitled “Single-cell profiling of skeletal progenitors”.

    This meeting has achieved a great success with about 300 ICMRS members and guests attended the meeting. by Dr. Guozhi Xiao

  • 28 Feb 2023 8:30 PM | Jiawei Lu

    Dear ICMRS Members,

    Happy New Year 2023!

    As the new year begins, ICMRS is proud to announce five new award opportunities with honorarium. These awards are aimed to recognize the research excellency and outstanding service of our members:

    a) Lifetime Achievement Award 

    b) Distinguished Clinical Investigator Award

    c) Distinguished Translational Research Investigator Award

    d) Distinguished Basic Science Research Investigator Award

    e) Service Medal

    Click ICMRS Awards2023.pdf for more information and nomination instructions on each award. All ICMRS members are eligible to receive an award, except as restricted by specific award criteria. The nomination package should be submitted to the Chair of Nomination Committee (qinling@pennmedicine.upenn.edu) before the deadline Sunday, April 30, 2023 (midnight, US EST). We will announce the final awardees and celebrated their achievements in 2023 ICMRS Fall Membership Meeting!

    ICMRS Nomination Committee

  • 19 Sep 2016 11:41 AM | Anonymous

    The annual ICMRS-ASBMR Membership Meeting was held in Atlanta on September 16, 2016. Dr. Ling Qin, the Membership Committee Chair, presided over the meeting. She started by thanking Dr. Tingting Tang, the chair of program committee for his leadership in the preparation of this meeting, and Dr. Neil Dong for an excellent job in putting together this meeting. Dr. James Wang, the President of ICMRS, gave a presidential report on the state of ICMRS and the society’s progresses in the last one year under his leadership. He stated that his team has achieved the initially set goals, thanks to the hard work from the ICMRS Executive Committee. In particular, he announced that a fully functional ICMRS website is in place now. This website has all-in-one solution, including website management, membership management, e-mail announcement, online payment and event registration. ICMRS membership has been reformed, and now there are more than 370 active members, including 129 student members, 159 regular members, and 82 life-time members. The membership continues to grow. Additionally, ICMRS has set up a mentor program, so far with 12 senior ICMRS life time members signed in to be mentors. Education Committee lead by Chair Herb Sun has been very active in organizing various workshops for members, including the one on career development in the membership meeting, and one more is being planned on Advances in Multidisciplinary Basic and Clinical Research on Spinal Disorders in October this year. The China Development Committee, chaired by Dr. Bin Li, has expanded three new China Collaborative Centers in this year. For a more detailed report slides, please click here.

    As a tradition, the membership meeting was highlighted by the Webster Jee Young Investigator Awards. The winners in this meeting are Wanqing Xie from Rush University, Min Jin from Texas A&M Balor College of Dentistry, and Yanzhi Liu from University of Nebraska Medical Center and Guangdong Medical University. The three awardees were presented with an award plaque, and a cash prize of $500 each.

    More than 70 active ICMRS members and scientists attended the meeting. The following is the photo gallery from this meeting.

<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   Next >  Last >> 
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software