Log in

The 2019 ICMRS-ASBMR Membership Meeting

24 Oct 2019 1:27 PM | Anonymous

The 2019 ICMRS-ASBMR Membership Meeting was held in Hyatt Regency Orlando, USA, on September 20, 2019. The meeting started at 7:00 PM with about 80 ICMRS members attended. Dr. Peter X Ma, President-elect and Chair of Program Committee, opened the meeting by welcoming attendees and acknowledging those ICMRS members who contributed to the meeting organization and student volunteers for their help. The President of the ICMRS, Dr. Tingting Tang, gave a speech summarizing the activities and progress of the society during his term of the past two years. Dr. Tang and his leadership team have accomplished a lot and made substantial progress in each of the identified areas needing improvement. The new President, Dr. Ling Qin, gave an inaugural speech to present her vision of the society and the plan for the coming two years.

Then 3 Webster Jee Young Investigator Awardees were announced. The award recipients were Xiangjiao Yi from the University of Rochester, Jun Ying from Washington University, and Jiayu Wei from Zhejiang University and Brown University. Each winner was presented with an award plaque and a cash prize.

The final program was a round table discussion on the topic of leadership. Dr. Peter Ma hosted the discussion and six panelists who have significant leadership experience shared their insights centered around what is leadership, how to develop leadership skills, the path to leadership, the responsibilities of leaders, etc. The six panelists were Yi-Xian Qin from Stony Brook University, Edward Guo from Columbia University, Jean Jiang from University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, James H Wang from University of Pittsburgh, Hua Zhu (David) Ke from Angitia Biopharmaceuticals, Linda Ma from Eli Lilly and Company. The meeting was closed at 9:30 PM.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software