News Report of 2017 ICMRS-ORS Membership Meeting at San Diego

28 Mar 2017 10:34 AM | Xuanliang Dong

The 2017 ICMRS-ORS Membership Meeting was held at San Diego on March 20. More than 120 ICMRS members attended the meeting. After a special dinner and socializing event, Dr. Tingting Tang, Chair of Program Committee and President-Elect, announced the opening of the meeting. This was followed by a speech from the President, Dr. James Wang. He reviewed those ICMRS events in 2016 and accomplishments, particularly in membership reform, and finally announced the upcoming biennial meeting in Xinjiang this year.

A major event in the meeting was the education workshop on opportunities and grant applications at the NIH, which was organized by Dr. Herb Sun, Chair of Education Committee of ICMRS. Dr. Fei Wang from NIH, and Dr. Yi-Xian Qin, Board Director of ICMRS, each gave a speech. Drs. Di Chen and Jeremy Mao then joined the panel discussions to share their views and experience as grant applicants and reviewers in NIH grant application. Two representatives from Chinese Orthopaedic Research Society (CORS), Dr. Shi-qing Feng and Dr. Hong-bin Lu also commented on their experience as reviewers for grant applications from National Science Foundation of China (NSFC).


Following the workshop. Dr. Tingting Tang announced three winners of the Webster Jee Young Investigator Awards. Mr. Chao Liang from Hong Kong Baptist University, Ms. Qing Li from Drexel University, and Mr. Yun Gao from the Alpert Medical School of Brown University, received an award, with a plaque and $500 check each.

For more information about this ICMRS membership meeting, please visit the ICMRS website.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software